My Journey to SELF

Hi, my name is Eric Whisselle. As a child I was pretty active. I played  a lot of sports outdoors such as soccer and baseball, as well as ride my bike. My eating habits were not the best as there were 3 children in the home , and not a lot of money coming in. My mother was a single parent, and not having a large income meant not always having the best food to eat.

Weight was not always an issue  for me. As a teenager I was a pretty slim guy at 150 lbs. When I turned 21 I started to gain weight . I had poor eating habits, and I become really depressed. At 25 years of age, my weight was at its highest point  525 lbs. At that point I didn’t feel like going outside because I would have to take breaks when I walked .  Yet, deep down inside I knew that I had to try to lose weight some how . I have 4 children that I had to depend on as they were growing up. They were the ones who did the things that I needed help with. I would feel as though every time someone looked at me they were talking bad about me because of the way that I looked .  It got so bad that I didn’t even want to take the bus anymore.

I went through a lot in my relationship of 20 years with the mother of my children. We were very young (16) when we had our first child.  We both had low-income, hence a  lot of money issues. When we had our 2nd child, that’s when I started to get really depressed. Once I was depressed, I turned to drugs, as most people do. When I felt alone I would turn to food. That’s where all the weight came from. It was almost 10 years later before I thought I really needed to change. My first grandchild was born  and I wanted to live to see the next one. I knew right then that I needed to change, not only for me to live a long healthy life  but also to make it up to my family for the weight that I placed on them.

 My biggest focus was to lose the pounds I had put on for the past 20 years. I was really kinda lucky, because at the weight  that I was at,  I didn’t have diabetes; high blood pressure , heart, liver, or kidney issues. I knew once I started to exercise that it would be “easy” for me to turn my life around. I’m not going to lie, there were days that I didn’t want to go to the gym. However, I knew that there was a point in my life  that I didn’t want to get back to; so I would get up and go to the gym anyways.  I would ask my highest power to help me. To give me the strength to get me to the gym. When I started going to the gym I was about 432 lbs. My ideal weight is to be 230 lbs. Right now I weight 265 lbs. I need to lose 35 more lbs to hit my target!! It’s so close that I can feel it. Once I achieve it, my new goal will be to maintain it. Pray for me.

I am not on any medications,  and I didn’t go for any type of surgery to help me lose weight. I did however remove the extra skin after I lost 150 lbs. I use Whey Fusion protein supplements. I start my day with a protein shake;  then at about 9 o’clock I have fruit;  at 10:30 I have a meal of (chicken and vegetables); and at 3:30 I have almost the same meal again. Whenever I feel hungry I have another shake or protein bar. When I’m done my workout in the evening I have my second protein shake. With that being said I eat my carbs in the morning. Every Saturday night is my cheat night, and I spend it with a team from my gym. 

There’s a lot of things that I have never been able to do. I would like to run a marathon (42 km) in Ottawa, Ontario. I would also like to go white water rafting with my kids. A young lady at the gym that I workout in always says “where there’s an unfit body, there’s a fit body wanting to break free” I remember that often, and it’s helping me to attain my goals. I knew when I was 500 lbs that I wanted to do something about the way that I looked, I just didn’t know where to start. The effort required to move in the opposite direction, seemed impossible.  I know how difficult it is to break free of the bad habits. It requires a great deal of will power, and support from the people around you . I know that true friends are the hardest to find, but I actually  had a friend who wouldn’t eat unhealthy around me because he knew how much of a struggle it was for me. It always helps to have a trainer and being around a group of people who can motivate you.

For me that place became  Curd and the team at http://hostyleconditioning.com/ and I thank them dearly.

I would like to help motivate anyone who wants to have a better life style and fitter body. It’s a daily struggle, and believe me, I know what it feels like, and I never want to go back there. I don’t have a blog site, however I will accept emails to my FB account Eric Whisselle (Ottawa, ON). Feel free to contact me directly, I’d love to hear from you.

Live by choice, not by chance.

Eric

Comments
  1. Congrats Eric! Your story is inspirational and I’m certain that you will hit your goal and be able to run a marathon in no time.

  2. Jasmine Pahl says:

    Wow! Thanks for the inspiration Eric! You gave me a much-needed tutorial in goal setting. As you requested, I am praying for you to reach your next goals!

  3. [...] My Journey to SELF Hi, my name is Eric Whisselle. As a child I was pretty active. I played  a lot of sports outdoors such as soccer and baseball, as well as ride my bike. My eating habits were no…  [...]

  4. eric says:

    Thank you, I’m glad that I have inspired you’s. This brings tears of joy as I’m taking the time to read it.

  5. drinkrunyoga says:

    Awesome job Eric! Thanks for sharing your story!

  6. Hi Eric, it’s Shay from Socially Fit. I just wanted to thank you once again for sharing your journey with us. It’s not reflected here in the comments or like’s but well over 300 individuals viewed your story today. I am certain that they will remember your message. Take care of yourself, and we wish you the very best that life has to offer. When you run that marathon, please send us a photo!!

    A blessed life to you and yours!! Thank you Curd for sharing Eric’s story with us!!

Leave a Reply

