Genesis Pro Training

Progress Pic – Courtney Feb/12 (lost 20 lbs)

I am the co-founder of a health and fitness company called Genesis Pro Training & Nutrition Systems. I live with my boyfriend, business partner, trainer and best friend (all the same amazing man) Mike. I recently left a job that I went to school for to expand the Genesis business into the most-recognized name in the health and fitness industry. Together we’re working on building a training center that will eventually expand throughout Southern Ontario, and then across Canada. Outside of the gym I am a freelance graphic designer and I love some good ol’ typography; the study of fonts. I also enjoy nature, and going for hikes through local waterfalls.

College Rugby

When I was little girl I was very active in sports and leisure activities. My parents signed me up for gymnastics, baseball, dance and figure skating. I always enjoyed dance and participated in ballet, jazz and  hip-hop classes when I was a little older. It wasn’t until High School, that I played badminton, touch football and rugby. In College I continued to play on the intramural touch football and rugby teams. I also played on the Varsity badminton team for two years. In my third year of college I finally obtained my first gym membership. I had always enjoyed sports and being active, but only on a social level. I grew up with a pool in my backyard and was always swimming in the summer, but never really took fitness seriously. In my third year after I had gained the well-known “Freshman 15” (which I think for me was about the Freshman 20), I had to make a change.

I signed up for Oxygen magazine subscriptions and started reading all the health and fitness magazines while at the gym on the cardio machines. I kept digging and digging for new information, new workouts to try, and was very inspired by the fitness models that I saw in the magazines. I wanted to be just like them one day. I noticed minor changes in my body and overall performance so I started working out consistently, but it wasn’t until I met Mike in January of 2012 that I properly applied the knowledge retained to my health and fitness. Prior to January, I had plateaued. I couldn’t get my body to change for the life of me. I’m certain that partying didn’t help, and there were other triggers that I just didn’t want to let go of in my life. When I finally decided that I wanted to become healthier; look and feel better; not just for a short-term, but for the rest of my life, it became my new focus. It was a new beginning. It’s not just about looking good on the outside, but feeling good on the inside, that I find most important. Now I place my health first and am confident that the body I want will come in time when my health is optimal.

Every day I wake up beside the love of my life, who is as grounded in health as I am, and I know that if I’m not motivated to work out, then he’s right there beside me, encouraging me. Every weekend we go over a list of goals, to remind ourselves of what we need to accomplish in the upcoming week. We make minor adjustments as we grow and we’re always looking for new ways to improve our health and increase our fitness levels. It wasn’t always this way. When my mindset for health and fitness changed years ago, it was hard for my friends and family to accept my new direction. At family functions and get-togethers, they would often ignore the fact that I didn’t eat certain foods and would offer them to me any way. They would question my decisions, as if it were odd. Over the years I’ve learned to let go of what others thought, and I focus on what’s important to me. I had to let go of some friends and I now have a stronger circle of people who care about me and support my efforts.

Goal attained – I ran 8,670 stairs in 73 minutes

Back in February 2012 I changed my workout routine and my diet plan. I lost 20 lbs and felt great. I didn’t listen to my friends or family when they said that I didn’t look great. How I felt on the inside was most important to me. It was very difficult to hear my trainer (now my boyfriend) say that with training I was going to gain that weight back. After years of staying the same weight and finally losing some, I couldn’t believe that I had to go right back to where I started. Great reason not to look at the scale, or use weight as a measure! Not fully accepting that what I lost was body fat, and what I will eventually gain is lean muscle was the source of my frustration in the moment. This was definitely a hard obstacle to overcome, and a great lesson to learn.

Goals are a constant motivator for me, and one of my biggest accomplishments thus far has been a stair climb (fundraiser) in my city. After three months of training I was able to run 8,670 stairs  in 73 minutes. I had set that goal 12 months prior and was very proud of myself when I attained it. Completing a certain number of chin-ups unassisted, or beating my previous training time are examples of other goals that I set for myself. As a result my workout routine is constantly changing. You can never stick to a set regime and expect different results. My workout routines are created by Genesis Pro Training Systems.

A few weeks ago you would find me in the gym doing cardio in the mornings and heavy weights in the evenings. Now it’s a Metabolic Conditioning or CrossFit style of training. With my Genesis custom program, I am taking supplements such as, Glutamine, Leucine, Arginine, Assault (a pre-workout by MP) and post-workout protein (by Perfect Nutrition), all used sparingly. I am taking an incredible liquid multivitamin by Awareness that is all natural. I have cleansed my body from years of fat burners, pills and any other supplements that are commonly used by fitness fanatics. My meal plan is always changing on my Genesis Nutrition Program, and I am currently cutting calories to reach new goals.

Recently, my meal plan consisted of the following:

First thing in the AM: 1 tsp French Green Clay mixed with water

Pre-workout drink

Breakfast: 2 eggs, 100ml whites, ½ apple

Snack: ½ apple, 1 tbsp natural peanut butter, 3 celery stalks

Lunch: 3oz chicken, 50g sweet potato, 1/4c mixed nuts

Snack: 3oz smoked salmon, 1c green salad, ½c mixed veggies, 1 tbsp dressing

Pre-workout drink

Post-workout shake with 250mL coconut water

Optional: small meal if hungry before bed

Oct/12 learning to “KIP” a CrossFit form of pull-up

My current fitness goals are to achieve a CrossFit style physique. I am looking for overall muscle mass and to lean out slightly. Through a strict and consistent diet and interval training, I know that I will be able to achieve my goals by 2013. I want to share with everyone that becoming healthier isn’t just a fad or a diet. It’s the ultimate life decision and a lifestyle change that they need to accept and be willing to commit to. If they aren’t absolutely dedicated and determined to make it work, then it will never happen. Everyone has different goals; what may work for some people, may not work for others. At Genesis PTS, we create custom programs to help people reach their goals and put their health first. We ‘study’ your lifestyle and learn about you as much as possible. It’s hard to eat or do something that you hate to get to your goals. That’s why we create your custom nutrition and training programs to best suit your needs. We don’t pump you full of supplements either; we believe that food is the ultimate medicine and it can cure you of any illness.

I am privileged to be able to share my health and fitness story with everyone, and really hope that I can help others attain their goals. Whether it’s just one sentence that I said that motivated someone to get off the couch, or to make a complete lifestyle change, I believe that you have the power to create your own beginning and I am here to help in any way possible.

You can find me on Facebook Courtney Ustrzycki and follow me on Twitter @courtney_u. If you need to contact me directly you can also email me at courtney.u@live.ca

I look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

