Going For The Win – Arnold’s 2013

blah

Chie Terui – Personal Trainer, International Figure Competitor and mother of 3 teenagers

My name is Chie Terui. I’m from Japan and I’ve been living in the U.S. for over 15 years. I’m part owner of Ratio 1:1 Fitness Personal Training Studio in suburban Chicago. If you’re ever in Chicago stop by for a visit and a WORKOUT!! I’m a personal trainer, international figure competitor, and mother of three beautiful teenagers. I’m interested in helping people through my experience and at the same time, challenging myself to achieve my own fitness goals and dreams. My project right now is getting ready for The Arnold Classic Amateur international figure championships; which, I placed 3rd in the open figure A class in 2010 and 2011. This time I’m going for No 1!

I was born north of the main land in TOWADA City AOMORI, Japan. I was always into sports and I liked the challenges of different sports. I played basketball (even though I’m short) for 3 years. When I was in Jr. High school, I got into “Kendo” a  Japanese martial art form. I continued through high school and earned my black belt. After that I became a swimming instructor, aerobics instructor and personal trainer in Japan. So you can say that I have been in the fitness industry all my life. However after moving to the U.S. and the birth of my children my habits changed. I love to eat; this combined with a lack of exercise got me up to 160lbs and wearing a size 12 (I’m only 5 feet tall). I developed health problems like high cholesterol. So being unhealthy, overweight and having marriage problems, I hated myself. I used to cry and was depressed all the time. One day I was watching this documentary of a girl that was born without arms. She didn’t have arms from the beginning so she didn’t know what it was like to have them. She knew how to work with what she had, though. She used her legs and feet for everything. She wrote and typed with her feet, ate and combed her hair with her feet. I mean everything was done with her feet. I thought to myself, I have arms, legs and feet and a strong mind that God gave me, so stop complaining and do something about it!! I know it might sound like I made it up but that’s exactly how I decided to change my life.

hhhh

I want to motivate others through my experience with fitness – Chie Terui

I had low self-esteem as a child growing up and I felt I wasn’t good enough for anything. But as I went through my journey with fitness I learned to truly believe in myself and that I could do anything that I set my mind to. When I decide to do something, I don’t quit until the end.  I have a lot of support from my family and fans. First my fiancé Earl Bell: He is my mentor and he trains me also. Second my three children. They are my cheerleaders (When I try to cheat they say, you are going to win so you should not eat that!). Third, my family and fans in Japan. I wrote a training column for a Japanese bodybuilding magazine call “GEKKAN Bodybuilding.” Since then, many of my fans are great supporters. Thanks everyone!!

My accomplishments to date:

2012 NPC Chicago Extravaganza Championships Figure Short class 1st place

2011 The Battle Of Champions Figure Short Class 1st place

2011 The Arnold Amateur International Competition Open Figure A 3rd place

2010 The Arnold Amateur International Competition Open Figure A 3rd place

2009 The IL State Championships Open Figure Short Class 1st place

Even with all of these titles under my belt the hardest obstacle for me to date was believing in myself, from my heart. I still practice everyday to think and feel positive at all times.

My workout routine is 3 days on, 1day off. Shoulder – Hamstrings & Glutes – Chest & Arms – Back – Legs in this Order.

Supplements are BCAA, Protein Shake, and Glutamine. Multi Vitamins, Vitamin C&D, Kelp, Calcium, Omega 3,

I prefer to have my protein from solid whole food, not protein shakes. I had a kidney infection when I was a teenager. Since then I had kidney infections every pregnancy. So I choose to consume my protein from foods, for less stress to my kidney. I eat the same always. I eat 5 to 6 times a day. Breakfast is egg whites, turkey bacon, oatmeal with raisin and a cup of coffee. (Off-season I might have pancakes sometimes) Meals 2 and 3 are chicken breast, broccoli and a baked sweet potato. Meal 4 is tilapia and asparagus. Meal 5 is egg whites and broccoli. (Off-season I will have a cheat meal on the weekend). I drink plenty of water.

bbb

I’ll continue to push myself until my dreams come true!

I am currently 6 weeks out from The Arnold Amateur International Figure Championships. My goal is to win the overall title. Another goal is to become an IFBB Japanese Figure Pro and compete at the pro Arnold figure and The Ms Figure Olympia. If you don’t like what you see in the mirror or how you feel, get your butt up and fix it!! If I can do it so can you.

Other goals on the horizon:

  • I’m currently collaborating with Chike Nutrition on my own meal replacement called “VITAI” (which means beautiful figure in Japanese)
  • I am also the only Midwest distributor for Chike protein coffee and protein shakes
  • I am working on a clothing line called “Figure Prodigy”  I look forward to sharing it with you very soon

It’s amazing what fitness can bring together. Thank God for social networking: it has truly connected the world. Who would have thought a Japanese girl with low self-esteem from a small country town in Japan could experience all the things that I have mentioned. I believe that when you want something so badly and are willing to put in the hard work, your dreams will come true. That is why I’m still here and continue to push myself until all my dreams come true. I would like to put back into the fitness what fitness has given me. Thank you so much for this opportunity, I appreciate it.

@chieterui

Comments
  1. Good luck with completing the rest of your goals Chie. It appears there is nothing you can’t do when you put your mind to it. Your results speak for themself! And ‘giving back’ is an excellent way to spread your message, as well as motivate. :) Great work!

Leave a Reply

