Leaving Unhealthy Behind #EatClean #TrainDirty

Posted: March 18, 2012 in Socially Fit
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Health In Numbers

As a social network for those who enjoy health and fitness, we have decided to try a little health project. We would like to try giving up one unhealthy habit per week with the help and support of those around us. We would also like you to become part of our journey to a better lifestyle while we contribute in your quest for well-being.

Beginning next week, March 25th,  we have decided to cut 1 unhealthy thing from our diet, or daily routine. We are looking for at least 5 others to join us in our goal. Let us know if you are interested by leaving a comment and telling us exactly what you will be cutting out, or improving upon. Our plan is to go one week without our unhealthy vice with help and support of individuals in our network. We will be posting our results (and hopefully results of others) on April 01, 2012. If things go well, we will be giving up another unhealthy habit the following week. Join us as we get healthier one step at a time.

Comments
  1. Timah says:

    Foods fried in flour and oil

  2. wartica says:

    This sounds like a great challenge; the extra bowl of cereal is what I want to cut back on:)) Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  3. Here is what we are giving up:

    Shay – Tea and cookies

    Shaun – Regular sugary snacks after 8PM

  4. Liz says:

    I will give up my once weekly fast food. I suppose once a week isn’t bad, but NEVER is much better. 🙂

  5. Mike Barratt says:

    This is a great idea and a great movement! I’ve cut out several things from diet recently: alcohol, processed food, fast food, cheese. For the week of the 25th, I will cut out all of those things.

  6. OK game on …giving up salt n vinger chip.

    • Amazing! Thanks for joining us Kellie. I’ve decided to check in with the group and leave a comment if I get to my breaking point. I’d rather grab a glass of water, and leave a quirky remark instead of caving!! It’s on!! Love your energy!

  7. Linneaki says:

    I will give up my 3 PM cookie/bad chocolate…

  8. Dr Ken Romeo says:

    Great idea. I’m in for any refined carbs.

  9. Eggkins says:

    I am giving up starch and white refined food.

  10. ahalyaaGi says:

    I will give up sugar for the week.

    • Thanks beautiful!

      It’s never easy to give up something that you love… I can’t believe how much support we’re getting!! Thank you for joining us. The truth is all we have to do is focus on giving up one bad habit at a time. That’s all that we need to do… we can do this!

  11. Eggkins says:

    Reblogged this on eggkinsdiet and commented:
    I joined in the Leaving Unhealthy Behind challenge, so now I am accountable to the whole internet! lol!

  12. Just would like the world to know that right about now I would normally be having my cup of tea, and yes a couple of cookies, but I’m saying no!! Damn you “eggkins” …

  13. Doing pretty good. I’ve resisted the urge yet another night… tho I must say… the craving is intense!

  14. Gaaaaa! I couldn’t find it. The hunt continues! Glad I didn’t pick anything up, because now I know to ask for unscented/tasteless. That being said *high five* I made it through another day! We’re going to have things under control well before the group starts on Sunday!! *doing my happy dance*

    • Eggkins says:

      Is it cheating if we have a head start? Yay! Another day behind you!
      Most major grocery chains carry coconut oil usually in the health section. Health food stores carry it as well. I buy Omega Nutrition Certified Organic aroma free coconut oil.

  15. […] see that I have been awarded an Oscar, I mean the Liebster from SociallyFit blog. I joined their Leaving Unhealthy Behind challenge and have enjoyed many other blogs on fitness, health and social […]

  16. […] I started eggkins and joined the leaving unhealthy behind challenge, I find that these habits of needing something sweet have been dealt with easily by taking […]

  17. Another day down, and I’ve gotta admit it’s getting easier. No more cravings, and I did it without the coconut oil. Totally ready to take it up a notch and drop something else… I’ve got till Monday to decide. One un-healthy habit a week… Good times!

  18. […] week we pledged to leave unhealthy behind beginning March 25th. Well that is today’s date and we are going to cut one unhealthy habit […]

  19. Jessi says:

    Instead of giving up something, I’ve been trying to add something, that is for the last couple weeks I’ve been trying to make sure that our main meal (be it lunch or dinner) included at least 2 veggies. To join in your habit plan, this week I’ll try to make sure both lunch and dinner include at least 2 veggies =)

  20. B.L. says:

    Starting today NO MORE FAST FOOD!!!

  21. gklof says:

    I am now participating in a fruit/vegetable co-op, buying milk and eggs from my local dairy, and just started baking my own bread. I’ve also resolved to not keep any soda in my house for the next six months. These changes all feel so great!

  22. […] headache. For those of you that don’t know, I have recently changed my diet in lieu of leaving unhealthy behind. The last time I had a headache like this was when I quit smoking cigarettes, drinking coffee, […]

  23. I’ve been doing something similar! This week, I’ve given up negative thoughts about myself and comparing myself to others. That is a necessary cut from my daily routine! Next week, I’m going to tackle either adding something in (exercise) or cutting something from my diet…like refined sugars.

    Good luck to everyone!

  24. […] is Thursday and it is day 5 of our “Leaving Unhealthy Behind” campaign. We want to hear from you! Let us know how you’re doing. Are you finding it […]

  25. […] Easter Sunday marks two weeks of “Leaving Unhealthy Behind” for us here at Socially Fit. In lieu of that (and reminding those of you who plan on pigging […]

  26. […] has been 4 weeks since we began the “Leaving Unhealthy Behind Challenge“. For those of you that are unaware, this is the first time in my life that I have ever […]

Leave a Reply

