The Last Five Minutes

Posted: March 24, 2012 in Socially Fit

Refuse To Give Up

Inspired by an awesome blog post via bgddyjim entitled “Don’t Quit Five Minutes Before The Miracle Happens…“, I have decided to talk about the last five minutes of a workout. Many of us out there, especially those just getting back into fitness loathe the last five minutes. You know exactly what I’ talking about, your lungs are on fire, your muscles are refusing to cooperate with your brain, your mouth is reminiscent of the Sahara desert, your form is shot, and the only thing you can think about is finishing. During this period you never really get the maximum out of the workout, so you tend to rush through it just so you can say, “I did it”.

I actually read bgddyjim’s post just before I went to the gym on Thursday. I decided to incorporate his thinking into my workout. There I was doing bicep curls (I really dislike exercises that have to do with biceps) and instead of just rushing through my sets, I said out loud, “don’t quit five minutes before the miracle happens”. I went through my last set slowly ensuring that my form was proper and that I felt each curl. Did it burn…yes, but I got through it. Needless to say I applied this to the rest of my workout.

I would like to pass this information/inspiration on to anyone who is finding it hard to get through those last five minutes, or that last set, or even those last 500 feet of a run; give the end of your workout just as much intensity as the beginning. You will feel a lot better mentally about what you have accomplished. I know that I did.

Comments
  1. Dr Ken Romeo says:

    This also applies to life in general. How many of us have given up on our life goals 5 minutes before we could have succeeded?

  2. tracye1 says:

    So, true. The last set makes all the difference in my own experience when I’m strength training. That last 5 minutes!

  3. bgddyjim says:

    Awesome post, and thanks for the hat-tip. That last five is always the toughest. I love the direction you took that post.

  4. Julianna says:

    And doesn’t this apply to all of our goals – exercising or otherwise?…

    Great reminder. 🙂

  5. Totally. Dr. Ken said exactly the same thing at the beginning of the day… most def a great reminder. Thanks for the comment, it’s greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

