Everyday We Rise To Shine

Posted: March 28, 2012 in Fitness Tips
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Running Through Pain

This morning I woke up with a 2-day-old headache. For those of you that don’t know, I have recently changed my diet in lieu of leaving unhealthy behind. The last time I had a headache like this was when I quit smoking cigarettes, drinking coffee, energy drinks, and alcohol (90 days for the alcohol). So I am going to say that this headache has about 2-3 more days of life left. With that lingering right behind my left eye, I must say that there was a small period this morning where I thought about staying in bed. Then I thought about my goals and how missing this one day could throw everything off. Needless to say I got off my butt and went on my run.

I guess what I am trying to say is that every morning may not be ideal; sometimes there are aches and pains that cause us to second guess our workout for the day. Some of us work through agony, while others resign to skip the day and rest. All of this depends on our individual pain thresholds. Aside from a serious injury, you should really consider your goals and how you are going to accomplish them before letting that paper cut be the reason you let today pass you by.

Comments
  1. tracye1 says:

    Ah so true. I need to remember that. Especially in the morning. Just a paper cut most days, and when it’s bigger than that there are still good choices to be made.

  2. Alex says:

    How right you are, great job on going for your run. While it’s important to listen to your body, it’s also important to know when to push yourself!

  3. juscree says:

    I had a lingering headache last week that hung around 3 days. I understand your pain, and I did in fact workout in the midst of my pain, although it was a light workout I manage to still get’er done. Keep up the great work.

  4. João Pinto says:

    Well done my friend, sometimes you have barriers in life, and who is able to push himself to pass them has great things ahead 🙂

  5. Grant says:

    I put my alarm clock across the room instead of next to my bed. By having to get out of bed to turn off the alarm clock I’m more likely to stay up and workout.

  6. Jeff Gehring says:

    Anyone can work out when they are feeing great.
    Very few people have what it takes to exercise when they are not feeling well.

  7. Shannon says:

    When I started on a healthy diet I had a headache for about 4 days from a carb detox. Not fun! But you are so right about moving. I was sore from yesterday’s workout this morning, but I’ve been walking around at work and I’m (almost) ready for tonight’s workout!

  8. I usually do one rest day per week. I don’t like to schedule it; rather, I let my body tell me when it’s time. The trick is to only take one, that way you push through the minor pains or tiredness.

  9. Ahhh yes.

    That may work for me further down the road, but right now, I’m trying to create the habit. If I miss “a day” that may throw off my game plan entirely. One day right now is very crucial. It’s so easy to fall back into the old routine of not doing, and furthermore not caring. I must fight a good fight to be the winner in the end.

  10. Wow… I have the same headache… 3 days now… it still has some life left but I’ll keep going and get it done! If I didn’t workout every time I didn’t feel “good” I would never workout! Keep it going! You’re doing great!

  11. Eggkins says:

    Way to go!

  12. Miss Busa says:

    I ran on pudding legs today… my calves are still complaining after those 13 miles on Sunday… I could barely walk when I got up. I wanted to skip, then on my run I wanted to quit. I kept at it, even if it was only 5K with an awful 10:44 pace. I’m glad I did. One day at a time, one workout at a time. And keep your eyes on the prize. For me that’s being able to run an 8-minute mile again.

    • Are you kidding me? That sounds awesome! I am still working my way up to 5K!

      • Miss Busa says:

        Today’s entry “Race Pace” was in part inspired by your reply to my comment here. 🙂 Figured, I’d let you know and be socially fit. \m/

      • Nice!!! We love to inspire and we’re glad that this happened! I see you have a serious need for speed as well. How long have you been riding?

      • Miss Busa says:

        🙂 Been riding for about 3.5 years. The real reason why I’ve started running and trying to eat better and take care of my body… I want to be faster. Throwing a literbike around, especially at speed, takes endurance and strength… who would have guessed. The guys laugh at me, still… they think I must be doing something wrong since I look like I work out… and they completely underestimate how much stronger they are even if in couch potato state. Being out of shape makes you slow after a few laps, mentally and physically. So after a year of knowning but never starting, I finally kicked myself in my lazy bum and got on it. The eating healthy part is still a bit of a problem area. I don’t give my body the fuel that it needs… so it’s revolting. But I’m working on that, too. I just don’t eat enough at the right time of the right foods… I forget, too. :/

      • This is quite an interesting story! Would yo like to share it through our site? We’d be interested in sharing it. If so, shoot me an email: shaun@sociallyfit.ca

      • Miss Busa says:

        Email sent 🙂 And thank you for the kudos, makes a girl smile.

  13. mandy main says:

    Good for you! There will always be reasons that we can use as excuses to keep us from our goals. When we push through, we build a mental muscle that over time, keeps us on track.

Leave a Reply

