“The first rule of Run Club is, we TALK about Run Club”

For those of you who don’t know, I recently began running (3 weeks to be exact). I usually run at 5AM, so needless to say there are not very many people out there for me to run with. I have however, found motivation in reading other blog posts. That made me think, why can’t I have a social media based run club?

I can in fact have one of those!! We’ve decided to start “Socially Fit: The Run Club“. It will include runners from all levels. Whether you run for recreation; train hard for marathons or triathlons; perhaps you’re a sprinter; or maybe you just run for the bus on occasion; this club’s for you!!  We’ve created a page (see new tab at the top)  for those of you who would like to participate. We just need some words of advice, motivation, encouragement, and inspiration. If you have something to share, or perhaps you’re thinking about starting, we’d like to hear from you.

Nike said it best: “There are clubs you can’t belong to, neighborhoods you can’t live in, schools you can’t get into, but the roads are always open.”

Come run with us!! Get Socially Fit!!

Comments
  1. Karen Wan says:

    I’m not into running but I have decided to move beyond walking my dogs and have a weekly goal of miles of power walking. Perhaps, I’ll work my way up to the running club some day.

    • I believe you will. For me the difference was in my mental state. When you think of running as an exercise that hurts and just leaves you out of breath, you are likely to stop before you start. If you think of it as something you want to conquer….then your road to victory begins.

  2. magnuminsp says:

    If this is your first day…you run…!

  3. commeunefolle says:

    All of my friends and family are anti-running and I struggle to find a community who ‘gets’ it. This is such a great idea!

  4. One of my favourite things to do related to running, is to read about running! If you’re looking for inspiration, I recommend reading Matt Long’s “The Long Run” (http://www.amazon.com/The-Long-Run-Firefighters-Triumphant/dp/160529246X).

  5. Miss Busa says:

    The only time I really like running is when I’m done, but I do it to enhance my endurance and get better at my sport. I’m training for a marathon, which is also an item on my Bucket List (because of my dislike for running, sort of an redemption thing). This is an awesome idea! I’m in!

  6. peterdopson says:

    This is great, I love jogging.

Leave a Reply

