See You On The Mat

There are many avenues to fitness. There are those who run, powerlift, bodybuild, ride, race, Zumba, weight train, box, cardio kick and the list goes on. Today we have the opportunity to bring yoga to the forefront. We here at Socially Fit were given the pleasure of meeting David Good via twitter. David is a true yogi, yoga instructor, founder of goodyoga, Socially Fit affiliate and Lululemon ambassador. He embraced us and our community offering advice to those who were ready to embrace a life with yoga at it’s core. He was also kind enough to share his story with us.

David leading a yoga session

I was a fat kid and soon became an overweight adult. I had poor posture and was so uncomfortable with my body. Growing up tall and heavy, always referred to as the “big guy”. I slouched and walked with shame. Yoga appealed to me because I got to stretch out and get a good sweat without competition or pressure. Yoga seemed so accepting. 

My first class was in a karate school in a strip mall in Vancouver’s Trout Lake area. I was so lost in my first class. Everyone was doing exactly what the teacher asked and I was floundering around like a fish out of water. It wasn’t until the next day that I realized how great I felt and I was hooked.

Yoga has opened my eyes to the truth (Satya) in my life, what sets me off, what pushes my buttons, how to deal with everyday stresses, how to show gratitude for what I have and how to love life. It gives me some guidelines to follow with the Sutras and the Eight Limbs of Yoga, but mainly has opened my eyes and heart to community.

David learning about yoga

I knew I wanted to teach about four years into the practice. I was searching for a career change and my social circle was full of yoga teachers and enthusiasts. The lifestyle appealed to me and I have always been an entrepreneur wanting to do my own thing. I started searching for the right teachers and school.  I practice Vinyasa yoga, linking movements to breath, a more vigorous practice and then the flip side is Restorative yoga, a supported practice that is more therapeutic in nature. I teach both and LOVE them both! 

David Good

I want to spark a passion in as many people as I can to find yoga. I also want to be a part of the movement to practice safely for longevity in the practice. I want someone to say, David Good was my first teacher, he taught me how to practice by following my bodies intuition and I am still practicing after 20 years. 

If I ever had my own space it would be a big white room with tons of floor to ceiling windows and no higher than the fourth floor (no skyscrapers). Old reused hardwood floors from an old barn, wide planks. An incredible Ganesha (the elephant god) graffiti mural in the front of the room. There would be a yoga rope wall on one side with room for 50 people. There would be a storage room full of Restorative props-blankets, chairs, bolsters, straps…etc. The sound system would be stacked and people could come dj some of the evening classes. We would also have a roof top garden that would help with the heating/cooling of the studio and a deck to practice on in the moon light. The studio would also have two guest rooms for travelling teachers. goodyoga would have many workshops, Fundamental classes, fun events like a regular movie night, and would be always busy. I have thought about it a little. 

I believe in foundation, building from the ground up. Starting with your breath, balance and focus in each pose. Then reaching outward to express your pose. Fine tuning from the core out. I am not into flashy poses but poses that build strength and show you your true self. goodyoga is an educated approach to yoga, rich with alignment cues. The practice will leave you feeling like you learned something about your body, while nurturing your soul. If you think you can’t do yoga because you are not flexible enough, just come try it. You might like it. You might even love it. There are so many styles and teachers, you just have to find the right one.

Comments
  1. Kaori says:

    Omg this is amazing. I didn’t know any of this about David. I feel so lucky to know him.

  2. David Good says:

    I have been overweight all my life. It wasn’t till I learned the secrets of linking your body and mind together in the process that the weight just fell off.
    Stay tuned I will be sharing my weight loss tips and sequencing to shed weight on your body and mind.
    xoDavid

  3. Would love for you to return, and share those weight loss tips!! Do keep us in mind!!

    Namaste.

  4. I have to say, when I started yoga my body was shaped totally different. Now by taking yoga for these past years it not only looks physically different, it is much stronger

  5. What a great story David. Where are you from and where do you teach Yoga?

  6. I love your post. Your holistic approach is great, and it can make such a difference as to if people stick with yoga for life or just a few classes.

  7. David Good says:

    Special thanks to http://www.lightmonkey.ca/ for the great photos.

  8. I loved David’s concept of goodyoga — so spiritually grounded AND uplifting. Makes me feel like I need to get back onto the mat (also makes me want to get more ink!!)

  9. Marie Overfors says:

    Great post. It’s wonderful to hear about your transformation and what yoga offers. 🙂

  10. curvyelvie says:

    Makes me want to give yoga another try. Thank you for sharing your story.

  11. Reblogged this on The GOLDEN RULE and commented:
    I am very health conscious, particularly now as I am experiencing cardiac issues. Already there are many posts and links here concerning health but usually on food and eating. Some info on the exercise aspects of a healthy body are needed.

Leave a Reply

