Pace Yourself

Yesterday I felt a little under the weather. My body was sore, and something that I ate was reeking its revenge on me. I had a workout scheduled, and I had no intention of cancelling it. So I got myself dressed and off I went to the gym. As I went through the paces, my mind drifting, my stomach aching, I kept reminding myself to focus. I couldn’t feel a thing. I couldn’t feel my muscles working, yet I knew that they were. Even though intensity and enthusiasm were lacking, I was still able to push myself to maintain the numbers, and in some cases increase the weight. I felt like I was in a bubble. There physically, but not mentally, I left feeling like it was a waste of time.

Today I feel amazing! My head is clear, my stomach ache gone, and my legs are killing me. I guess we all have those days? My partner normally writes the blog post, and today he finds himself going through the paces, mind drifting, not really knowing what to touch on. He’s collecting his thoughts after an early morning run.  The only advice that I have for him and for all of us in our daily lives, is to pace ourselves. We’re in it for the long haul.

Remain consistent.

Comments
  1. tracye1 says:

    Ditto. And you never regret having worked out. Only if you’ve missed it. Good for you!!

    • You’d be surprised how many times we quote, or think of you guys, when it comes to our workout routine. We’d be ok if we were just letting ourselves down, but when it comes to our readers (our daily motivation and inspiration) it’s just not acceptable! We give it our all!!

      Thank you for the kind words…

  2. Consistency, commitment and determination are key to a great fitness plan. Oh! And, I almost forget about the… “fun” – another important aspect!

  3. Most def, we totally agree!

  4. peterdopson says:

    Quick the TV remote….Haha.!

  5. byebyescale says:

    Wow, I really needed to hear that message today! Thanks!

  6. I agree. Consistency is our best friend. Thanks for your candid sharing! Shelby

  7. elisariva says:

    I couldn’t agree more!

  8. Liz says:

    I find it helps to just switch your attitude, crank out some energising music on your ipod and get yourself to the gym. The rest of it usually takes care of itself once you’re there! And I know what you mean, when you are blogging you end up being a lot more accountable about your actions – another great reason to share the love!

    • Hey Liz,

      I tried to get my head in the game, it just wasn’t happening, I was sick to my stomach. I didn’t think that I would make it through, but I did. Didn’t feel any better at the end, just knew that I had completed my workout, then I crawled back into bed. Today however, that’s a whole other story.

      I am thankful that I followed through, all of my aches and pains confirm that work was done, and I’m feeling great!! Today let’s que the tunes!!

      Thanks for all the wonderful comments!! You guys ROCK!!

  9. Ugh! I just had one of those days yesterday! I hate it when you KNOW you’re in shape and can do it, but your body just says “Nope, not today”…hoping today’s run will be much better!

    keep up the graeat work!

  10. breathe4u says:

    Oh yes, I have been there!! Forge onward and upward, you’ll reap the benefits!!

  11. cruz2lose says:

    I am under the weather today myself, thank you for that push. : )

Leave a Reply

