Effort = Results

Posted: April 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

Walking The Walk

As I was on my way home from work yesterday, I heard two people talking about a particular exercise DVD. This is how the conversation went:

Person 1: I tried that new DVD you recommended. It wasn’t all that you said it would be.

Person 2: I’m surprised because I thought it was great.

Person 1: It’s all just a money-making scheme. It really does not work.

Person 2: Really? What happened?

Person 1: I gave the program two weeks and I saw no changes.

Person 2: It took me a while before I saw results but I stuck with it everyday and lost 12 pounds in 4 weeks.

Person 1: The first week I missed two days and in week 2 I was only able to do half of the instruction.

That is when I began to get a little irritated. This is not the first time I have heard someone say something like this about an exercise program. Whether it was a DVD, video game, or personal training; this story is not new. Some programs are not meant for everyone but in this instance we can clearly see that the DVD was not the problem.

In order for one of these DVD’s to give the desired results, it takes effort on the user’s behalf. If we don’t put in 100%, we will never get the full benefit of anything in life. Fitness requires a certain dedication and if you lack that, don’t expect to have the results just fall into your lap.

100%: The minimum effort required for excellence.

Comments
  1. Great article, enjoyed it alot. I just had that sorta conversation with a client today actually. it is almost a daily thing trying to make people see that what they put in is what they’ll get. Thanks

    • Thank you for the comment! Results don’t come overnight….maybe not even in two weeks. You will see them eventually if you stick to it. I see trainers deal with whiners a lot at the gym. I often wonder why people pay a trainer to listen to them complain instead of training.

  2. So true! And so annoying! Oh…you didn’t see results because you didn’t do the workouts?! ummm helloooo!! what did you think!? that BUYING the workout DVD means that you will lose weight?!

  3. Skills says:

    Reblogged this on hairscapades and commented:
    Thought this was very apropo as many of us have health & fitness goals for the GOC. I’ve listened to and overheard similar convos. The advice given here is wise and so true.

  4. Alex says:

    I could not agree more! Turning the DVD on or going to the gym is a good start but it’s not enough. You need to work and push your body!

  5. lynned83 says:

    Soooo true! Although sometimes a little easier said than done! 😉
    We all have the tools to lose weight, it’s just putting it all into practice!

  6. joranvar says:

    Reading or watching won’t actually give the results. People seem to think of those DVD’s as the [quote]Manual of Gainful Exercise
    Aura strong evocation (if miracle is used); CL 17th
    Slot none; Price 27,500 gp (+1), 55,000 gp (+2), 82,500 gp (+3), 110,000 gp (+4), 137,500 gp (+5); Weight 5 lbs.
    DESCRIPTION
    This thick tome contains exercise descriptions and diet suggestions, but entwined within the words is a powerful magical effect. If anyone reads this book, which takes a total of 48 hours over a minimum of 6 days, she gains an inherent bonus from +1 to +5 (depending on the type of manual) to her Strength score. Once the book is read, the magic disappears from the pages and it becomes a normal book.[/quote]

    Sometimes we wish that life is like a role playing game ^^

  7. […] on sociallyfitblog.wordpress.com Share this:TwitterFacebookLinkedInMorePinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  8. […] background-position: 50% 0px ; background-color:#222222; background-repeat : no-repeat; } sociallyfitblog.wordpress.com – Today, 8:31 […]

  9. graceyb says:

    Agreed! Commitment to the program, and let’s not forget a low calorie, high nutrition diet. too many people start an exercise program and don’t change their eating habits and wonder why they can’t lose weight. You need BOTH diet and exercise. Either one alone is not as effective.

  10. Green Thumb Mama says:

    I do have to say that I am a skeptic. I have a hard time believing some DVDs that say results in very little time by exercising for less than 15 minutes. That seems to me to be unrealistic. Am I wrong?

  11. RunAWeigh says:

    Well said! I find nothing more irritating than comments like that. Or worse, an aquaintance said they had signed up and were having the gastric surgery afterall. I asked them what happened to going to the gym, and they said they tried it a couple times and saw no results.

    A couple?!?!?!

  12. Shakes head… I see that you’ve had one of those moments as well. Did the individual in question actually have the surgery? I’m curious to know the long term results…

  13. elisariva says:

    Outstanding!! If it were easy, we wouldn’t sweat. It takes effort and determination. There is no easy quick fix.

  14. You can say that again!

    There’s a group of senior’s that workout at the community centre in our neighbourhood. They get up and go to this class three times a week. The oldest is 95!! What’s my excuse?!?! I don’t dare have one…

    Health and well-being is not negotiable.

  15. travtrails says:

    It is easy to blame some one/ thing for personal shortcomings

  16. Cara Olsen says:

    “100% the minimum effort required for excellence.” WOW! I think I just found my new favorite aphorism. And if we could just apply this philosophy to every facet of our lives; marriage, job, friendships, etc . . . wouldn’t we be a more gratified, successful, and joyful people?

    You must have been biting your tongue as your listened to that conversation!

  17. Ruth Schrader-Grace says:

    I couldn’t agree more. Like anything in life you have to give 100% at least to accomplish what you want or need in life. It’s not going to be served up to you on a silver plater. Even the weathiest can’t get toner or thinner or healthier without putting the effort in themselves.

  18. ahimsamaven says:

    I have conversations like this a lot in the gym, and while I try not to pass judgment – I do offer advice much like yours. If you want results make changes. Dedicate yourself and if they aren’t working. – revisit dedication level, adjust continue. Repeat. It’s not quite the same in a yoga practice but…pretty damn similar.

  19. oolalang says:

    Excuses that I hear from people I actually spend time with are all reflexive: “I don’t have the self-control” or “I can’t make myself do it.” Hearing self-limiting statements is frustrating, but at least they realize they are ultimately responsible for their successes and failures. The level of self-delusion in the above conversation is really confusing to me.

  20. bgddyjim says:

    Perfectly written.

  21. Fitness Monkey says:

    I’ve been going to the gym consistently, but even I find it hard to give 90% every time let alone 100%. However, I do agree with you that people will always blame others but not themselves when things are not working out.

  22. […] reason I was distracted with appointments this week at lunch.  Urgh.  Yesterday’s post @ Socially Fit was a good reminder that we don’t get results from haphazard efforts and good intentions. […]

  23. Jan Lumibao says:

    That last line was excellent; it just became one of my new favorite quotes, and I’ll be thinking of it when I hit the gym today.

  24. Miss Busa says:

    And 100% is really just the minimum. 🙂 Loved this post.

  25. […] Monkey has recently come across an interesting post on sociallyfitblog. In this particular post, the author says “100%: The minimum effort required for […]

Leave a Reply

