Heart of a Champion

On stage with Curtis Harwell

Each day on twitter there is a powerful boost in energy when he arrives. He is first and foremost thankful for the grace of God, and he makes a point of personally thanking each and every follower (over six thousand the last time I checked). He inspires with his words, and motivates through his unyielding spirit. He is a proud father, and an avid bodybuilder. It is an absolute pleasure for us to introduce you to “Curtis Harwell” and what you’ll discover is that he has more heart than you can ever imagine. When your heart fails, and all the colors in life fade to black, that flat line is quite possibly all that is left, but that’s not always the case.

As a youngster I liked being faster and stronger than everyone else. I knew I wasn’t going to be tall so I worked with what God gave me. God made me strong, hence my choice was easy. I liked the look of Arnold and Franco and said I want to be like them. I have spent every day since working for that. I have a successful marriage, family, and business. I will continue to bodybuild as long as God is willing. My coach Ted Post from Orange California still competes at the age of 69 so I hope to match whatever he does.

A young Curtis – Always the athlete

March 3rd has marked 3 years since I’ve had total heart reconstruction. I am stronger and have more endurance than I have ever had. So its influence has made me a better father, man and bodybuilder. I live to motivate people every day. There was never a moment in which I thought about quitting bodybuilding. My survival rate was not good so my main goal was to be around and functioning for my family. I did however think about bodybuilding since it has been a huge part of my life since I was 13. I knew no one worked harder or had more desire to succeed than I did. I knew if God gave me the opportunity to continue my life, he would also give me the strength to come back and be better. I was never afraid I would not body build again. I just didn’t know how good I would be. I was back in the gym 3 weeks after my surgery. My sternum was still wired and unhealed and hurt like hell but I had to start. I did what the doctor would let me do with a weight limitation of 5 pounds. Remember everything was new and not well healed yet. Walking from the car to the gym I was out of breath.

Getting “PUMPED”

When competing professionally, a week before the show I put the finishing touches on. I’ve learned from a lot of old style bodybuilders so my goal a week out is to tighten the screws on the diet. NO accidents. Do nothing I wouldn’t normally do. NO experimenting. I do a full body workout Monday throughWednesday with a few exercises and sets but I do sets of 25 reps. The reps help me get hard and striated and thin my skin out for vascularity. Plus the day of the show a full body pump is easier to achieve and not get tired. I do NO legs the week of the show. Need the cuts the day of the show. I rest after Wednesday. I start my water cutting regimen on Wednesday. The color starts going on Wednesday night through the morning of the show. I practice poses in the mirrors at Gold’s Gym early in the morning when no one is there Monday through Wednesday. I am a power poser so I’m not a dancer. Not my style with the injuries I have had. Thursday is used as travel day.

Curtis Harwell “Believe”

God has had the chance 3 times in my life to take me home. Every time he has allowed me to stay here to share my motivation and life with others. Giving back to the sport that has given me my life is the least I can do. Every day of my life I try to make a difference in someone’s life for the better. Everyone should experience what being a WINNER and WINNING is all about. I think bodybuilding is the GREATEST sport in the world. I never waste time on what my competition looks like or how they train. If I give everything I have to give I will WIN. If I don’t WIN it’s because I need to work harder; and I do.

Be the best that you can be, and everything else will fall into place – God Bless

Curtis

Leave a Reply

