Another Four Letter Word

Gym rats love to workout as much as possible. They love the burn and look forward to training hard everyday. One word they do not like to hear is “rest”. As important as it is, once we get into a routine, we do not like to break our cycle. Even though we enjoy the physical challenge, we need to give our bodies time to recuperate.

Resting your body has huge advantages. It gives your body time to build the muscle that you’ve been working so hard on. This also gives your body an opportunity  to repair any damaged tissues and replenish energy. Choosing to ignore your body when it tells you that it needs a rest can have some very unpleasant results. Over-training can be very dangerous. If you do not allow your body to restore the energy that you use and repair itself, you risk injuries that could be avoided with proper rest. These injuries can be serious and mean that you are missing workouts for a longer period of time.

Though it is hard for the dedicated gym rat to take time off without feeling guilty, it is for lack of a better phrase, a necessary evil. Time away from training allows us to grow stronger mentally and physically. Your body will thank you for it.

Comments
  1. Ruth Schrader-Grace says:

    I agree! I workout during the week and the weekend I allow my body to rest and rejuvenate for my next weeks workout.

  2. RunAWeigh says:

    Well said! It is very important! Both physically and mentally I find!

  3. vgrandja says:

    I do like to sweat a lot when I’m walking. I sweat a lot when I’m walking the 1.5 walk routine. Usually I do 45 minutes and not as much sweat.

Leave a Reply

