Learn and Grow

Ever found a hair in your sandwich?

 Oddly the more I learn the fewer items I eat, and the more I move closer to a raw diet. I’m not complaining but after watching the movie “Food Inc.” and hearing all that Michael Pollan had to say no one can blame me. I’m going to suggest that you do the research yourself, because when it comes to a lifestyle of fitness and wellbeing that’s part of the journey. Some pages in life you simply must turn for yourself.

Talking about freaky food facts though, did you know that fruit flavored snacks are made with the same wax found in car wax? Or, have you ever found a hair in your bagel? It might belong to a rodent, and according to Health Canada, that may not be a food safety infraction!!  What about jellybeans?? Did you know that their shiny coating was made from bug feces? Don’t believe us?

Well you don’t have to take our word for it, just check out the link attached and see for yourself!http://www.besthealthmag.ca/eat-well/healthy-eating/10-freaky-facts-about-food?slide=1 You’ll thank us later!!

Please be sure to check back with us on Friday we have a motivational true story for you from Brian Schwartz. He’s lost 165lbs to date, and he’s still going! You don’t want to miss this!

Your friends at “Socially Fit”

Comments
  1. […] background-position: 50% 0px ; background-color:#222222; background-repeat : no-repeat; } sociallyfitblog.wordpress.com – Today, 6:22 […]

  2. delpercente says:

    Reblogged this on From the mind of Del… and commented:
    Ewww! Did not know this, must share this information. Thanks!

  3. bgddyjim says:

    It would be shocking if it were true, but most of what they lay out is hype or BS (or both), Michael Moore style. Sure it gets the gullible into a lather, but that’s all it’s out there for – oh and to make the filmaker a profit (ooh, did I just write that? Yes I did. Speaking of profit, do you know how much Michael Moore is worth?). You could show me real evidence that what that quack said was true and I still wouldn’t change a thing in my diet – either that or I’d just shoot more of my own food, that works too.

    Now outta my way with your Prius – I’ve got a Chicken Sammich and a Double Whopper no toms, no onions, a big old order of onion rings (with the onion ring sauce – oh, and some bbq sauce for the chicken sammich) and a fat Coke waiting for me. (That’s almost 3,000 calories by the way…). 😀

    • Like I said in my opening statement, do your own research and arrive at your own truth.

      This article isn’t for everyone and neither is a vegan, eating clean or raw lifestyle. Go ahead, eat your “sammich” on white bread I imagine, I’m OK with that. I had a spinach salad in case you’re wondering; it may or may not have had a hair in it, but these food choices are ones that we’ve made for ourselves. I’m going to leave your comments, they provoke thought, and after all that’s needed for growth. As for the article, I happen to believe it true. Never did watch the Michael Moore movies, though as I understand it, he did shake up the fast food industry. Can’t recall the last time I ate fast food, never really enjoyed it myself. Oh well…

      Continue to live inspired!

      • bgddyjim says:

        Actually I eat a lot healthier than that – I just eat that crap to bulk up (hat tip to Eric Cartman). I used to research that stuff exhaustively until I noticed the pattern – everybody wants to fight something and most aren’t willing to do it honestly.

        I was unfairly and uncharacteristically rude, and for that I do sincerely apologize.

  4. bgddyjim says:

    By the way, I got to rolling there and I almost forgot… You prepare your own food, don’t you? You ever drop a hair into the salad? I’ll bet you have. Do you think you should report yourself to the health department or no? I’m just sayin’… And if you’re going “raw”, chances are that hair you eat or that piece of cow poo you eat because it stuck to the asparagus won’t even be cooked – so now you’re eating raw hair and raw cow poo instead of cooked.

    I’ll take mine fried. In bacon grease.

    This reminds me of the whole “compost this” boondoggle… For the longest time compost piles have been the green rage! Don’t throw it into a landfill, composte it!!! Well landfills burn off their methane and make electricity out of it. Composters release that greenhouse gas into the atmosphere. Who is more environmentally responsible? Voila. WOOHOO!

    Feel free to delete my comments, I’m just funnin’ ya.

  5. teachtheteacher says:

    OMG, I was just telling someone that after watching “Food, Inc” I completely changed my eating habits too!! I eat mostly real/raw food now. I haven’t read anything by Michael Pollan, but I found the website http://www.100daysofrealfood.com (which I love), and she always talks about Michael Pollan. Changing my diet has changed my health for the better, I’m positive about that. 🙂

    • I have yet to meet face to face, or on line, someone that was not moved by that movie; or the China Study (a book). I love Michael Pollan, and quote him quite often on our twitter account. His views are in line with our way of being. Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants!

      Does it get any easier than that?

      Thanks for stopping by, and thank you for sharing the link!!

  6. graceyb says:

    Thanks for the info. I reblogged this too

  7. […] This is worth a read.  It has been reposted from Socially Fit […]

  8. I like the valuable info you provide for your articles.

    I’ll bookmark your weblog and take a look at again here regularly.
    I’m moderately sure I’ll be told lots of new stuff right right here!

    Good luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

