The Journey Continues

Lucky me, I grew up in the era of active kids! I can remember vividly long days having a good time, outside.  Of course we did everything from bike riding, to camping.  There were days when we just ran around and days where we went exploring deep into the woods.  It was great to be a kid. I was never extremely athletic but I did always want to keep up with the big kids.  As an army brat, I moved all over the world.  One of the places I was fortunate to live in was Italy.  Many people know how big soccer is there, I found out first hand.  At this stage in my life it was only natural to join each community sports league, each season.  There was basketball, baseball, swimming, and of course soccer.  I think those were the years that laid the foundation for me.  It gave me a well-rounded base for a physically fit life. 
 
Somehow, I made it all the way through college without ever joining a sports team.  I did remain quite active, largely due to being on the step team for my fraternity.  I must say that kept me in great shape!  It really wasn’t until years after school that I considered making fitness a career.  I was probably 25 when I first started having thoughts of  my own company (Sequel Life) and all the possibilities. 
 
From the very beginning I made it a mission of “Sequel Life” to educate  individuals on what I call the realms of health and fitness.  It is important to attack from all angles.  Those angles are mind, body, and soul.  As humans, everything about us is connected.  Our spirituality (soul) hugely influences our thoughts, which in turn effects how we treat our bodies.  For me, I am far more conscious than ever before! One of my favorite sayings is “When you know better, you do better.”  Being involved with fitness on a daily basis keeps me completely in tune. Mind, body, and soul!
 
Part of me always wants to stay fit in order to keep my audience motivated.  I know that people are looking to me for inspiration and for an example of true fitness.  I try my best to remain transparent at all times.  I NEVER want my audience to perceive me as perfect.  I’m far from it and that’s the beauty of the journey.  One of Sequel Life’s mottos is “The Journey Continues…”  This signifies continuous growth and improvement.   
 

Brendon in Jamaica – 2006

I’m blessed to have a great support system in my family that has supported my personal journey.  I have two brothers.  I’m in the middle.  I have a brother two years older and one who is six years younger.  Finding my way this far hasn’t exactly been a smooth road.  This is part of what makes Sequel Life Fitness great!  The ability to be flexible and adapt in adverse situations.  Life happens, we have to go with it. 

 
Over the years Sequel Life has taken a few turns but one thing has remained constant.  It’s about YOU! It is a reflection of your personal journey to greatness.  I want to help people live a happier and healthier life.  As an empowerment visionary/coach, it is my call to get people excited about a lifestyle change.  After all, being fit is about a lifestyle.  It’s not about going to the gym.  My hope is that people will think “Sequel Life” whenever they make a good life decision or even when they make a bad one, as a reminder.  In short, SLF is a constant reminder that your story isn’t finished.  Keep writing your life.  Just because there was a confusing chapter doesn’t mean the book can’t have an amazing end.
 
There is a recurring fond memory I have as a trainer and coach.  It’s the first message I get from a potential client asking me for help or guidance.  In that very moment when they hit the send button is where the first breakthrough happens. I am beyond honored to be a part of that moment.  It’s truly a humbling experience each and every time.  
 

Brendon participating in the “Polar Bear Plunge”

Thankfully I haven’t had any horrible experiences with any clients.  I did have one with myself.  Right before I decided to take my fitness seriously, I had an awakening.  While walking I looked down and noticed my “college abs” were gone.  My shirt was now sticking out on its own, I had a gut! The summer after I graduated college I gained roughly 30 pounds in just under 3 months! Keep in mind that I was always “in shape” or too skinny.  It was a scary realization that ANYONE can be a victim.  Here I was thinking I’d never have to worry about that sort of a thing, meanwhile I was gaining weight.

 
I quickly changed my diet.  I cut out all alcoholic beverages and most other drinks besides water. I threw a lot of fruits and veggies in the mix and cut out the fast food.  I was very strict for 2 weeks and lost about 12 pounds immediately!  Next was the gym.  I went about 6 times a week, anywhere from 2-3 hours depending on the workout.  I took some protein for growth and recovery.  Soon I was transformed!
Three years later, my regimen has changed drastically. I currently change my workout almost every day.  I practice yoga a few times a week.  I do a lot of circuit training throughout the week.  If I’m not training for a race, I run an average of 12-15 miles a week.  Currently I don’t take any supplements because my program doesn’t really require it.  Who knows, maybe I’ll switch it up again and do some heavy lifting.
 
I feel great, probably the best I’ve ever felt!  For now, my goal is just to maintain my condition and live fit.  In order to do that, I have to keep a balanced diet.  I’ll be honest, I don’t eat a strict diet anymore.  I hate to obsess over calories & carb counting.  I’d much rather just be aware of what I’m eating and how my body handles it. “Based on my growing up in Italy you can probably guess what my weakness is… “ Another good change I’ve made is I drink an extreme amount of water now, cant get enough!
 
As life moves on and the business grows I’m able to dream bigger than ever before.  Hopefully one day Sequel Life will have space that has a gym with state of the art equipment and a conference room to teach the community how to live empowered.  Of course I’d have an office right on site to be readily available.  The beauty is, dreams do come true!
 

My Sequel Life “The Journey Continues…”

If there’s anyone reading this hoping to start their journey my advice to you is, do it! We all start somewhere but dreams don’t become reality without work.  I’ve taken the charge of empowering people because I feel its necessary and it’s something I’m blessed to be able to do.  Think of the head coach of a pro sports team.  All of those athletes are already qualified to play and win. They just need a coach to stir up what is already inside of them, the greatness!  So I say to you seek the proper help and be great. Go conquer without reservation!

 
I’m blessed to be in the position I am in right now.  I take nothing for granted and am trying to use my gift the best way I know how.  Over the past few years Sequel Life has come a long way.  I have done some serious networking and through that some truly awesome people have come into my life.  I believe positive people attract positive people.  I do my best to surround myself with like-minded people and those who have great energy.  Let me just say, so far its been working out great! 
 
Hopefully I can continue to be the catalyst for people starting on their journey.  My mission is to help guide all who recognize life has more to offer.  For those who are ready to experience their Sequel Life!!
 
 
I can be emailed at BRP@SequelLife.com 
 
Also, check out and subscribe to my Empowerment websites for more tips, advice, and inspiration!
 
 
Thank you for reading,
Brendon
 
 
 
Comments
  1. Shionta Pumphrey says:

    I am very proud of you!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your story with us!

    We wish you the very best of health, happiness, and every success as you move forward with “Sequel Life”.

    Continue to live inspired,
    Shay

Leave a Reply

