Keep It Simple

image2

I work 65 hrs a week. I pack my gym bag every night and go straight to the gym after work. Work out for two hours from 5-7.  As a child I was pretty shy. I didn’t really open up and make friends in school until I entered the world of sports. When I realized girls liked you for being good at something is when I tried to be good at everything. When I was 12 years old I was playing baseball, football and basketball. I added track to the list in high school and immediately after I picked up MMA. Fitness has been a huge part of my life. I feel it fuels life success. To be honest though, after high school I started slacking off and getting lazy in the gym. I felt like I had no purpose there, no sport to get in shape for. I went to Tarleton State University for exercise and sports studies for a year where I learned a ton about workout plans and techniques. But you can’t teach motivation. A person has to find that on the inside all by yourself. It’s wasn’t until Jan. 2012 when I changed the way I worked in the gym. I use to go with out a plan and stay for 45 min. Now I go with my personal plan and stay 2 hrs. It doesn’t start with the plan though. You have to first get your mind right. I googled inspirational quotes from my favorite role models. Quotes from Will Smith, Steve Jobs and Michael Jordan are a few of my favorites. Also, motivational YouTube videos helped me get started as well.

I’ve always been passionate about my reputation and my looks. It wasn’t until recently that I became passionate about health and fitness. I just realized the greatest wealth is health and there’s no better reason to workout. I was running outside one day, it was 100 degrees outside and I had to stop in at a convenient store for some water. The lady asked how far I was running and I told her 4 miles. She asked, what for? I said life. I try to keep it simple. Every answer to a question, everything I do should be. Life is complicated enough. So that’s why I run that’s why I do work in the gym is for life. To stay strong for as long as possible. To live healthy.
I also celebrate all of my accomplishments, large and small. I went 10-0 in a karate tournament and won 1st place in Dallas. Won some awards too but the greatest accomplishment would be working out 20 weeks in a row without missing a workout. I went from 187 to 207.
A basic example of my workout routine and meals are as follows:
Workout 1: Chest & Triceps
Dumbbell Incline Press: 3×8
Incline Dumbbell Flies: 3×8
Bench Press: 3×8
Dumbbell Bench Press: 3×8
Dumbbell Decline Press: 3×8
Triceps Pushdowns: 3×12
Over Head Tricep Curl 3×12
Kickbacks: 3×12
Abs: 3×20
Cardio: Basketball 1hr
 Workout 2: Legs & Abs
Squats: 3×8
Deadlift: 3×8
Dumbbell Lunges:3×12
Leg Extensions: 3×12
Leg Curl: 3×12
Seated Calf Raises: 2xTF
Abs: 3×20
Workout 3: REST
Workout 4: Shoulders & Abs
Shoulder Press: 3×8
Side Lateral Raises: 3×12
Bent Over Rear Delt Raise: 3×12
Dumbbell Shrugs: 3×12
T-bar shrougs:3×12
Ab Machine: 3×20
Ab Circuit: 9Exercises 20Reps Each
Workout 5: Back & Biceps
Close-Grip Pull downs: 3×8
Wide Grip Pull Down: 3×8
T-Bar Rows: 3×8
Power Clean: 3×8
Seated Cable Rows: 3×12
Barbell Curls Standing: 3×12
Preacher Curls: 3×12
Standing Dumbbell Curls: TF to 72 Total Reps However many sets it
takes. Must exceed more than 20 reps your 1st set. Only 2min rest
between each set.
Workout 6: Rest
Workout 7: Rest

This is my base workout, however I am not a robot and it is a good thing to break the rules every once in a while. Mix it up sometimes, add new exercises, but do not skip a workout day and always work HARD. I take musclepharm assault for pre-workout then combat for protein.

Eat six times a day. Everything you put in your body counts and is another chance to better yourself and reach your goals. Discipline is key. My mindset is keep it  simple.  Jump start my metabolism early and keep it going with healthy snacks throughout the day. No fried foods, no sodas and alcohol once every 2-3 weeks.

Meal #1- Oatmeal with fruit, a Banana, an orange and a Protein Shake.

Meal #2- 1/2 a cup of unsalted almonds or a protein shake.

Meal #3- 8-12oz of chicken, fish or steak with 1/2 cup of brown rice and side salad

Meal #4- 1/2 a cup of unsalted almonds or a protein shake.

Meal #5- 8-12oz chicken, fish or steak with 1/2 cup of brown rice 1/2 tomato

Meal #6- Protein shake.

Hard work and a clean living is the right road to take to get where you wanna go. I get detoured sometimes but my self-discipline and positive mindset gets me back on track.

 

image1

For free workout tips or life coaching you can reach me on twitter @obryanfarmer and on fb at www.facebook.com/obryanfarmer

Leave a Reply

