A young Benny (in red)

Growing Up In Nigeria Was a Blessing

As a kid, I was always active. I played soccer, as well as ran track in elementary and High school. Growing up in Nigeria was really a blessing because I was constantly on the soccer field with friends, running or walking everywhere. I also consumed a very healthy diet as we had unlimited access to fresh fruits and vegetables.

My lifestyle changed completely when I moved to Canada. I became less passionate about fitness, and as I grew older  I started eating a lot of fast food. I began drinking on a daily basis, with little to no exercise and I developed a smoking habit. I am always “on the go” so I never thought that my health, or weight was an issue. It wasn’t until two years ago when I had a conversation with my father that he really opened my eyes. There’s a history of diabetes and heart disease in my family, and he was actually concerned about my health.  It was a wake up call for me to change.

Progress Pics (Jun – Sep 2012)

Today I am a totally different person.  New habits and a whole new lifestyle. I enjoy my daily workouts and my strength is increasing daily. #Beastmode as they say on twitter. I am truly enjoying the blessings of a healthier lifestyle. This summer I bought a bike and started cycling. I also started boxing. I made a promise to myself to keep positive, live a healthy lifestyle and never look back.  I feel amazing physically and I have more stamina. I look better and feel better about myself. I am able to relate to others with more confidence. I get compliments all the time, and I am deeply humbled. I have a more positive attitude and outlook on life. Spiritually  I am at peace with my life, my emotions, attitudes, and personality. I now try to inspire others to live a healthier life .

Health has become my main priority. I think of how far I have come, and where I want to be, and I know where I never want to be again. My father told me “Think of your body like a car or vehicle that carries your soul. You only get one body through this journey of life. Keep it in shape and it will take you further. Health is wealth”.
 

@bennybing

I am thankful to have very supportive friends and family in my life. When I decided to begin my journey we all agreed to change the way we ate and our outlook on our health. My sister joined in my quest and also lost a lot of weight. We became each others support system. Most people are amazed, shocked, blown away, and flabbergasted at the new fitter me. They always ask “How did you do it?”, “Can you help me”, “I wanna be like you”. It feels good to see their reaction and to be an example that “YOU CAN DO IT”. I’m the first to admit that it’s not easy. However every nod, thumbs up, high five, and compliment  makes losing that first 20LBS, cycling 500K this summer, running my first 10K, and bench pressing 240LBS, so much greater.

Currently I work out 5 days a week, box 3 days a week and 2 rest days. I sometimes go for a jog or box on my rest days. I take fish oil capsules, flax-seed oil, a multivitamin sports pack, glucosamine, and MyoFusion Probiotic Elite Athlete Protein. These supplements help build muscle, reduce body fat, increase endurance, and help speed up my recovery times. I eat a clean 6 meals and drink lots of water 5-6 liters a day. I use a high protein/low carb diet, I eat mainly lean meats such as chicken breasts, fish, lean beef, turkey breasts etc. with lots of green vegetables like kale, lettuce, broccoli, asparagus, etc. My philosophy is simple “Eat Clean, Train Dirty.” My new goal is to attain 175LBS of lean muscle and 5-7% body fat. I’d also like to run 15K. They say that Rome wasn’t built in a day but the first brick was laid. If I can do this, you can too. Take that first step. Think about where you wanna be and go for it. Be disciplined, consistent and dedicated. Ask yourself daily “How bad do you want it?” Don’t stop fighting, keep going and remember it’s a lifelong commitment. It really helps to be around positive people who share the same interest in fitness like you do. The journey isn’t easy, but the struggle and experiences are very rewarding. Do not underestimate the power to change. Stay positive.
You can check out my blog http://bennybing.tumblr.com or follow me on twitter @BennyBing. You can also tune in to my radio show every Tuesday 7pm Eastern time on http://Gidilounge.fm.
Comments
  1. T Hollis says:

    Love your motto: Eat Clean, Train Dirty! Well done!

  2. Ajoke says:

    I love this! Benny you’re such an inspiration…But you were fat ooo lol :-p. I still find you’re transformation so amazing, I’m really glad you were able to stick with it and look how far you’ve come, AMAZING!

  3. Kehinde says:

    Benny my man, glad u went from one pack to six pack. Health is wealth my brother; it tends to be hard staying consistednt with workout but I try to keep pushing. nice blog

  4. Chimzi -ngrnhair says:

    Congrats in all ur hard work!!! Paying off for sure. Youve kinda motivated me too just by tweeting ur fitocracy points!! God bless! Ps. “little benny in red” – adorable. Lol

  5. debbie lore says:

    well cus, i want to start myself, but i’m not sure where to start. Did you start with diet? What was
    the very first thing you did

Leave a Reply

