Never Give Up

Meet Spencer

My name is Spencer, and I’m an 18 year old senior in High School

My name is Spencer G. I am 18 years old, and a senior in high school (I am going to college for civil engineering next year). I have Crohn’s disease, and have managed to put it in complete remission, without any medications. I did this by going gluten, dairy, and soy free and by taking several all natural, homeopathic supplements. I spend most of my free time working out in the gym and am currently working with a homeopathic doctor to both help others with Crohn’s and other illnesses, to naturally improve their physical performance and ability.  I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease when I was 5 years old. I can not remember a time without this disease. Despite this illness, I was always involved in sports and physical activities. I started taking Tae-Kwon-Do as a young child, and went on to become a black belt and placed second in the US Open. I was constantly battling my Crohn’s disease, and it was very difficult at times; but I did not let my disease stop me.

I have always been passionate about fitness. I was always involved in sports. I began playing football in 7th grade, and played through my sophomore year in high school, when my Crohn’s forced me to undergo major surgery to remove 17 inches of my intestine. I was one of the smallest people on the team, and had to find a way to make up for my lack of size. I found that way in weight lifting, and have not stopped lifting since. My desire to get bigger and stronger motivated me to train hard, even though I no longer play football. Despite the fact that I was strong, and looked healthy, I was not truly healthy and my Crohn’s disease was constantly flaring up and holding me back. Nothing was working for me, no medicine could keep my Crohn’s under control. It was not until I went gluten and dairy free and began taking several homeopathic supplements that my Crohn’s disease went into remission. The combination of going gluten and dairy free and taking all natural supplements, including homeopathic sprays to optimize my hormone levels contributed to my health. My Crohn’s is in complete remission, I am off of my medications. I am bigger and stronger than ever.

blah blh

I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease when I was 5 years old. I can not remember a time without this disease. In my sophomore year I had to undergo surgery to have 17″ of my intestine removed.

Being healthy, and having my Crohn’s disease in remission has changed my life in so many ways. My body is healthy, I am not sick, and this has allowed me to grow physically, and mentally. I have no doubt that I would not be where I am today if my Crohn’s was not in remission. Being healthy goes beyond the physical for me. Knowing that I am healthy is the greatest feeling in the world. No longer do I have to go to bed wondering if I will end up in the hospital the next day. Being freed of that fear is a huge weight off of my shoulders. I am now free to pursue my dreams without being held back by disease.

I am extremely motivated to be fit and healthy. My health is a way of life for me. The combination of the diet I follow, the supplements I take, and how hard I train all come together to keep me healthy. I needed to put my Crohn’s disease in remission before I could take my body and fitness to the next level, and continue to get bigger and stronger. My family has been crucial to me.  Getting to this stage has been extremely difficult for me, however my parents have been nothing but supportive, and have been by my side through thick and thin. They helped me begin my journey, and continue to support me. Having a strong support system is so important, and they continue to motivate me to stay healthy and continue to improve every day.

I’m very proud of my accomplishments, I am a black belt in Tae-Kwon-Do, certified by Kukkiwon, the World Tae-Kwon-Do headquarters, in South Korea. I can squat over twice my bodyweight, and can bench press 100lbs more than I weigh (more than 1.6 times my body weight). I can also do single arm, four-finger (fingertip) push ups. I train two body parts per workout: chest and triceps, back and biceps, legs and shoulders. After these three days I take one day off to recuperate. I am constantly changing the exercises I do, and occasionally amount of reps I do and the body parts I workout together. I also do calves and abs/core once every three days or so. Working out is only half of the equation for me, the supplements that I take are just as vital to my overall health and well being as the time that I spend in the gym.

Testrodol: an all natural homeopathic spray that optimizes and balances the body’s hormones by triggering the production of testosterone. Increases muscle mass, strength and energy. Also helps decrease body fat and aids in weight loss. (I took blood and saliva tests before starting Testrodol, and again after 3 months, and my testosterone to estrogen ratio increased by 524%!)

Novadrol: an all natural homeopathic spray that activates the pathways in your body to naturally produce and use human growth hormone. Human growth hormone is vital to gaining muscle and recovering from workouts. It also slows aging and promotes better sleep. (I took blood and saliva tests before starting Novadrol, and again after 3 months, and my human growth hormone level increased 31%!)

Vitamin B12: An all natural, homeopathic spray that combines vitamin B12, B6, and folic acid. It delivers the most bio-active form of vitamin B12. B12 provides instant energy, encourages healthy brain cell activity, improves memory, and improves sleep quality.

Nitro Build Protein Powder  a great source of protein, calories, carbohydrates, and amino acids

Ornexia fiber, protein, amino acids, antioxidants, and Omega fatty acids

Chianex Pure Chia Oil an amazing source of calories and Omega 3,6, and 9 fatty acids

Total Body Greens Vegetable Powder a way for me to get the fiber, protein, and other benefits of vegetables on the go in my protein shake

Reflux Relief ES a prebiotic that helps stop abdominal cramps, bloating, gas and indigestion. It also eases irritable bowel syndrome, helps restore normal gastrointestinal flora enzymes to your digestive system, aids in increasing nutrient intake and absorption, and promotes a healthier and stronger immune system.

Olive Leaf Max supports immune function, decreases inflammation, supports heart health, is anti-viral, and improves digestion and prevents intestinal irritations and infections.

“I am gluten, dairy, and soy free. This can make eating difficult, especially for someone like me, who eats over 4,000 calories and 180g of protein per day, but I have gotten it down to a very simple science that is now second nature to me.”

Breakfast: Protein Shake (2 scoops of Nitro Build Protein Powder, 1 scoop of Ornexia, 1 tablespoon of Chianex Oil, 3 tablespoons of coconut oil, one handful each of (organic) spinach, carrots, and bananas.)

Pre-Lunch: Protein shake (2 scoops of Nitro Build Protein Powder and one scoop of Total Body Greens)

Lunch: Organic chicken and rice pasta.

After-School (before training): Protein Shake (2 scoops of Nitro Build Protein Powder, 1 scoop of Ornexia, 1 tablespoon of Chianex Oil, 3 tablespoons of coconut oil, one handful each of (organic) spinach, carrots, and bananas.)

Dinner: Wild Caught Fish (salmon, tuna, or mahi-mahi) patties, gluten free bread, and rice or rice pasta.

Before Bed: 3 hard-boiled eggs and gluten free cereal.

I also snack throughout the day with gluten, dairy, and soy free cookies, brownies, rice crispy treats, muffins, organic corn chips, and matzo. I am currently training to be able to do a one arm pull up, a 2 finger-one hand push up, and rep 100lb dumbbells on incline bench press. I plan to continue to get bigger and stronger.

Everyone has to go through challenges in life, and the real measure of who you are is not what you do when things are easy, but how you act when you are faced with adversity.

Everyone has to go through challenges in life, and the real measure of who you are is not what you do when things are easy, but how you act when you are faced with adversity.

Never give up. Everyone has to go through challenges in life, and the real measure of who you are is not what you do when things are easy, but how you act when you are faced with adversity. If you lack motivation, just think about what you have to gain and where you are coming from; visualize the end result of all of the hard work that is necessary to reach your goal. I thought about the nights that I spent in the hospital after surgery; that was all the motivation I needed to embark on the journey to become healthy. Think about where you are and where you want to be and work your hardest to make it happen.

I was told that I would suffer from Crohn’s disease for the rest of my life. Doctors pounded into my head that I would always be on medications, and would have multiple surgeries. I had been convinced that another hospitalization was just around the corner. I was constantly waiting for the other shoe to drop. I have now proven them wrong, and have found a way to overcome Crohn’s disease. I had to completely change my philosophy on disease, treatment, and medications. I realized that, I had only been treating the symptoms of my disease. I now know that the key to overcoming any disease or illness is to address and treat the underlying cause of the illness. I did this by going gluten, dairy, and soy free (removing these foods that cause inflammation and trigger my Crohn’s disease) and taking several natural, homeopathic supplements.

“The key to health is to be proactive, not reactive.”

For more information on how I conquered Crohn’s Disease, on going gluten/dairy free, or how to get bigger and stronger naturally; visit my website muscleupglutenanddairyfree.com.

email: theglutenfreeguru@yahoo.com     website: muscleupglutenanddairyfree.com

 

Comments
  1. Shared via twitter >> @AlMPartridge Motivational Today is out! http://paper.li/AlMPartridge/1313078988 … ▸ Top stories today via @socially_fit @JulieHamilton_ @naimshayirK

Leave a Reply

