Winning!

22

My name is Rekia Smiley and I’ve lost 115 pounds!!

This is my first blog interview and what I want most is to inspire others to become physically fit. My story may be short but it’s filled with determination and knowing. I know how hard it is to start; how hard it is to stay committed; and how wonderful it feels to look back and see results.  I was not always passionate about fitness, though I ran a little at the local community centers in my youth. The real catalyst for me came when my mother was diagnosed with diabetes. It made me want to change my life for the better. Every day that I wake up and put out an effort is a success. Now I hike, bike ride and rock climb for fun. I believe in myself and my family support is amazing! Especially after I lost 100 pounds; then everyone jumped on the band wagon.Truth be told the hardest obstacle for me was simply “trying” because for the longest time I thought that there was nothing wrong with being a “Phat Girl”. It took an honest look at myself to realize that I didn’t want to get any bigger.  It took me a year and a half to lose 115 pounds. It’s an amazing feeling. I’ve since entered and completed a walk-a-thon contest, something I never would have thought of doing. My current work out routines are weight management focused. It’s an eating plan that I can manage combined with core strength exercises. Tomorrow I may eat oatmeal with fruit and toast for breakfast and a peanut butter sandwich and bananas for lunch. I snack on fresh fruits, peanuts, dry fruit, carrots and celery and drink lots of water. For dinner I may have chicken with brown rice, broccoli and milk. I’m currently doing a 12 week challenge to tone and build strength in my upper and lower body. If you’re thinking of starting, then start today. Don’t waste another minute. No matter how big or small you are working out and eating healthy is something that you should do. Be healthy for life.

Facebook-Rekia Smiley @twitter Rekia_thebest  @instagram Rekia_thebest

Comments
  1. Via twitter >> FitOldGuy favorited your Tweet New #BLOG post today via @Rekia_TheBest…

  2. Via twitter >> Mr. Wall St retweeted you New #BLOG post today via @Rekia_TheBest she’s winning…

  3. Via twitter >> AS_Toronto retweeted you New #BLOG post today via @Rekia_TheBest she’s winning…

  4. Via twitter from @as_toronto >> @socially_fit what a great story. You are so inspiring @Rekia_TheBest. Congratulations!!

  5. Via twitter >> Women Business Club retweeted you New #BLOG post today via @Rekia_TheBest she’s…

  6. Via twitter >> Todd McCollough retweeted you The hardest thing to do is get started, but I’ve lost 115lbs since then…

  7. Via twitter from ‏@ToddPMc >> @socially_fit @rekia_thebest In. Spired! #nutrition #peacelove

  8. Kollett says:

    That’s right… You go girl!!!! You couldn’t have said it any better then what you did, I’m so happy that your informing people to get fit because it’s very important to keep your body healthy and it will all pay off in the long run. Keep up the good work!!! Love you honey ❤

  9. Jamar Jones says:

    What an amazing testimony! #inspired
    #awesome

  10. Janae Gordon says:

    Soooooo proud of you I knew you could do it. I LOVE you and keep it up doll. I’m here and always will be.

  11. rekia says:

    awww thank you guys!!!!

  12. From FB >>> Gypsy Lee said “you look fantastic”

  13. From FB >> Marty A Arias said “U rock! U keep striving! Everyday is a battle but u have hit the hardest part…now is time to continue ur new life…its a lifestyle forever!”

  14. Earl Bell II says:

    I see you out here encouraging the world on wieght lose, so when you going to be ready for commercial advertising! Lol

  15. Lashauneka Robinson says:

    I’m so happy for you Rekia… Keep up the good work!!!!

  16. Theresa says:

    Your story is such an inspiration to those whom you may have never even thought of reaching. You motivate ppl in a way that Obama may have motivated black men to be all that they can be. The drive and determination you posses is beyond words! I personally want to thank you for being a role model to me and others who aspire to walk in shoes similar yours. I want to thank you for being a positive influence not only on me but for my niece and nephews who are in need of more positive figures to walk the streets of our community. The rewards you have gained from your health plan are jaw dropping and let me just say that your cup of beauty has runneth over.(Lol ) Every picture you take has an undeniable glow and I can’t help but want to join you in this movement. I just want to let you know that you are a ray of hope to the future #teamfitness so continue to shine bright like a diamond and may God bless you in everyway.

Leave a Reply

