Dramas of a Bald Head Queen

My Journey Through Fitness - Nina Brewton

My Journey Through Fitness – Nina Brewton

Today, I am a wife, daughter, sister, aunt and so much more! I am blessed to be more content with the woman I am today than I’ve ever been in my life. All is not perfect but all is indeed well!  

I am a two-time self-published author and am currently working to re-release my memoir, Dramas of a Bald Head Queen in late June. I’m also working on adapting Dramas into a one-woman show which will debut on stage next spring!  

I mentor young people and am looking forward to serving on the board of directors for a non-profit organization in our nation’s capitol.  

I am so very excited about my future and know that this is just the beginning!  

Excerpt from Dramas of a Bald Head Queen

“Carl – dad – doesn’t sit still.  He’s constantly moving something; fixing, building, planting, painting, going somewhere.  He rarely moves without a purpose. He believed his two children would benefit from the same kind of movement.  If he found we’d been planted indoors for too long he would make us get up to do SOMETHING. He did the same for all the neighborhood kids…

Even though my father always had my brother and I on the go, I would not say that we were a “health conscious” family. I grew up eating large portions of traditional Southern cuisine, or “Soul Food”, on a regular basis. Most vegetables were cooked in “fat back” (pork fat) with lots of salt and meats were often fried – be it fish, chicken or my father’s blessed pork chops! Diet was not a familiar word. We were that family who ate white bread during dinner every night. 

I remember in high school, I was an avid runner and cheerleader who could, and would, eat nearly anything! During that time, my mother would always warn me, promising, “Alright, you keep eating like that, it will catch up with you!” I laughed it off, confident in my slim athletic build. I knew that if I kept moving, I could eat what I wanted without gaining weight. Good genes have kept me looking remotely fit over the years. I have my father’s “stocky”, athletic build and have taken advantage of that for years since first becoming involved in organized sports in middle school.  

Even after running track throughout high school and continuing as a hobby into my early 20’s, I noticed that my body began to change somewhere between year 25 and 26. In all my moving, doing and eating, the one thing I failed to consider was my body’s metabolism and how time and nature would one day turn against me…*cues scary music* 

During the two weeks leading up to Christmas 2006, I took a road trip from Virginia to Texas. After two days of eating food on the go, I found that my then size 8 body was quickly drifting into size 10 territory. I’ve been creeping up in size ever since, hitting a size 18 and 230 lbs in 2010. That was truly the heaviest I’d ever been in my life. Something had to change but even with all of my natural athletic abilities and physique, it hasn’t been easy. Besides becoming physically stronger with consistent exercise, I have discovered that I grow mentally and spiritually as well as I strive to be disciplined and obedient. I recognize that my purpose in life goes well beyond my being fit to look good or simply to fit into a pair of jeans. 

Nina at her heaviest - 230lbs

Nina – Size 18 230 lbs

I have learned that in order to be available to God, I have to be the best that I can possibly be. If I claim to live for God but lack the discipline to even control what I eat or whether I take the initiative to take care of my physical body, I can’t possibly have the discipline required to maintain a high level of spirituality.  

I take full responsibility for being a living example for every person that I am connected to. I strive daily to be that in every area of my life! I am most driven when I consider all the people in the world who are physically unable to do the things that I can do, I am reminded of my mantra, “If you’re able, be willing.” I think of all the people who are inspired by my life and I know that it is important to lead by example. From the youngest to the oldest, the world is in need of inspiration. If I can encourage one person to be better by remaining motivated to be fit, then I’ll do it! But I don’t do this alone. My family is most supportive. My husband, Raphael is not an athletic type so, he doesn’t go so far as to workout with me but he is totally supportive of my desire to be fit. From meeting me at the finish line at early morning races to making sure we include new running shoes and other workout gear into our budget, I know that he’s got my back, no matter what! 

Doubt is a killer of drive and ambition.

My mind is the greatest obstacle I’ve ever encountered. Whether our goals are physical, academic or professional, we have to take control of our thoughts to overcome our doubts and live up to our full potential! 

Nina a couple of weeks ago at the Color Me Rad 5K run

Nina a couple of weeks ago at the Color Me Rad 5K run

I recently rejoined the YMCA after two years because I found myself bored with my workout regimen. For over a year I was just running and running as I trained for my half-marathon. I eventually hit a plateau, growing tired of just running. I realized that, even though I enjoy running alone, I missed the camaraderie and support that comes from being involved in a group.  

My routine also lacked strength training so now I do a Bootcamp, circuit class every Monday, Wednesday and Friday morning which includes combinations of body weight exercises, calisthenics and cardio routines.  On Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, I run and lift weights.

I really don’t have a meal plan, per se. My goal every day is not to overeat! For breakfast I’ll generally have three hard-boiled eggs and an avocado with black pepper, turmeric and a dash of pink salt. That is my current favorite thing to have for breakfast. I also include juicing and smoothies with my meals to make certain I’m getting all the nutrients I need! As for supplements, I’m not a big fan. I may include whey protein powder in my smoothies but honestly, I am terrible at taking my daily vitamin.

Back in February my weight crept back up to 225. I have been working hard and I’m currently just under 200lbs. I would like to lose another 15lbs. My overall goal is to maintain my weight between 180 and 185 and to be wearing a size 10/12. Besides weight and size, I also have a goal of running my second half-marathon later this summer so, I’m training for that as well! 

Everything stems from LOVE - Nina Brewton

Everything stems from LOVE – Nina Brewton

If you’re thinking of starting your fitness journey it really begins with you. One has to get to a point where their ultimate well-being is their motivation. Not everyone is going to be a marathoner, a yogi or able to bench 200lbs but everyone can find what works for them and become great at thatJUST. DO. IT. Don’t think. Just do!

Every small step is a step towards a goal and no step is too small! Allow yourself to progress naturally. Compare yourself to yourself only! Don’t look at the progress, size, shape of others for your motivation. The better you has to be your motivation and the former you must be your competition! 

It is so very important to surround yourself with people who are like-minded in your endeavors. From your online network to those who are a direct part of your life, changing our mindset often means changing our environment and the people in it!As you purge your physical weight, don’t be afraid of letting the weight of negative, unsupportive people go as well!  

Contact Info:

I’m on Twitter and Instagram as @baldheadqueen and can be found on Facebook by searching for Nina Brewton. You may also find all contact information at www.baldheadqueen.com or follow my blog at www.baldheadqueen.blogspot.com 

Comments
  1. Julianna says:

    Nina – Rock on, sister. I haven’t been so joyfully inspired by a post on this site in a long time.

    There is indeed such an intimate connection between caring for out bodies (our Selves) and our spiritual growth. Not everyone gets into it with that in mind, but I believe it’s a gorgeous side-effect for just about everyone.

    Your spirit shines through your writing. Thank you for sharing your Light!

  2. *BEAM*

    Thank you so very much Julianna!!!

    It’s quite amazing when you make the connection between spirit, mind and body. Just as with our lifeline, the spine. When any one thing is out of alignment, our whole self is out of alignment.

    Much love and light to you sis! 🙂

  3. Nina, I think you’ve touched on so many vital points when it comes to starting a healthy weight loss and HEALTH journey. It doesn’t matter what’s happening around you or what everyone else is doing with their lives, we have to be in control of our own and do what needs to be done to make ourselves healthy and balanced. That’s the key to longevity, not quick fix plans and false idols. Great post, best of luck!………>Healthy Journey!

Leave a Reply

