Sammit Fitness

Dan Sammit

Sammit Fitness is committed to providing health, fitness and performance training and education. 

I am currently involved with 2 successful small businesses. I am the co-founder of Pin High Performance and the owner of Sammit Fitness.

Pin High Performance develops custom fitness programs for golfers of all levels. Sammit Fitness is committed to providing health, fitness and performance training and education.

Over the past several months, Sammit Fitness has been working with health care providers and a holistic health program (sponsored and funded by SunLife Insurance) through a local hospital to help people with various health conditions. It has been a great opportunity to give back and help transform people’s lives through exercise and education.

Today, I enjoy being physically active on a daily basis but it has not always been the case.

Many of us were introduced to fitness through sport. My childhood was no different. In the warmer months, track (sprinting), soccer, baseball, bike riding, hiking and street hockey were the norm. In the colder months, downhill skiing was the major source of physical activity.

As I got into my teens, physical activity became an afterthought. I made poor food choices which lead me to become overweight for several years. I became very self-conscious of my body and my height or lack thereof. Going into high school, I was 5’2” and a very out of shape 140lbs. This caused a lot of anxiety for a few years.

It was not until I was at the end of grade 10 that things started to change. Over the summer I grew about 8 inches and gained about 20 pounds. When school started in the fall, I was much taller than many of the kids that used to pick on me. I gained a new confidence. Since I would not be the smallest, slowest guy on the field, I decided it was time to go back and try sports again. I signed up for baseball, and got back to regular activity.

I kept up with my exercise and sports into my early 20’s. That is when I was introduced to weight training. I also stumbled into a part time job at a nutrition/health food store at that time.

While working at the store, I became quite familiar with vitamins, herbs and supplements. This was extremely helpful with my weight training regimen and getting me healthy.

At this point, I was still unsure about my career path. I had the opportunity to manage several stores so I decided that I wanted that challenge. While I was running the stores and interacting with clients, I realized that I really enjoyed helping people with their health. It was gratifying to know I was empowering them and helped them feel better. That is when I knew I wanted to make my career in the health and fitness field.

Today, I enjoy being physically active on a daily basis but it has not always been the case.

Today, I enjoy being physically active on a daily basis but it has not always been the case.

With the support of my family and friends, I enrolled in the Fitness and Lifestyle Management Program (FLMP) at George Brown College. I had been out of school for several years and this program was a real challenge. After 3 years, I graduated and have not looked back since. My pursuit of knowledge did not end at school. I constantly read and study under some of the best fitness and health professionals in the world. My passion for helping people get healthy and reach their fitness goals keeps me going every day.

I enjoyed weight training but needed an additional challenge after school was complete. Enter Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ). A friend of mine took me out to a class and I was hooked. It was hard to understand how these small guys and girls were able to handle larger opponents with ease. Talk about motivation! I knew that I had to learn this martial art. The sport has taught me some valuable lessons in dedication, perseverance, confidence and respect. It has been a great addition to my regular exercise routine. I am currently an active competitor.

Due to the varied sports and activities, my training and workout schedule have evolved over the past few years. I periodize my training based on various goals to maximize my results. Here is a snap shot of my current workouts:

1. Jiu Jitsu 2-3 times per week (1.5 hr per session)

2. Weight Training or HIIT 2 times per week (using free weights, kettlebells, sandbags, clubs, body weight) 20-30 min

3. Joint mobility is done daily (active recovery)

Daily meals can vary but here is an average day:

Breakfast: 2-3 eggs with ezekiel toast or fresh pressed juice (mainly from greens) with plant based protein and essential fatty acids

Lunch: 1 of chicken, fish or meat with mixed green salad, olive oil and balsamic vinegar

Supper: 1 of chicken, fish or meat with steamed vegetables (several types) or salad

*as many organic, non GMO ingredients as possible

Other important factors for daily health and fitness I follow are:

*3 liters of water spread throughout the day.

* Sleep from 10:30pm- 6am

Supplements are limited because I try to get as many nutrients from food as possible. That said, I use coconut oil (daily), BCAA’s (daily) and plant based protein on occasion.

Eat well, move daily, set goals, keep a positive attitude, and enjoy every second of life!

Eat well, move daily, set goals, keep a positive attitude, and enjoy every second of life! ~ Dan Sammit

Current GoaIs: Training to compete in several BJJ tournaments (3-5 more this year)

Start training for an athletic model/bodybuilding contest in 2014 or 2015

Continue to study and mentor with the best people in the industry

For those of you looking to start your fitness journey remember that physical activity can be done anywhere. Don’t get hung up on going to the gym to get fit. Choose activities you enjoy doing. Eat well, move daily, set goals, keep a positive attitude, and enjoy every second of life!

 

Follow me on twitter @SammitFitness and @GtaMMACoach
For golf fitness: dan@pinhighperformance.com
For health, fitness and performance: dan@sammitfitness.com

 

Leave a Reply

